Skip to main content

Managing Locations

Learn how to activate, deactivate, edit, and delete your Yoco locations – and how to track sales and stock by store.

Once your locations are set up, managing them is easy. Here’s how to activate and deactivate locations, make edits, delete a location when you no longer need it, and track your sales and stock by store. All from the Yoco App.


Activating a location


When you're ready to start trading from a new location, you'll need to activate it. Just remember that the moment you activate a location, you'll be billed for it.

  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Locations tile/widget.

  4. Select the location you want to activate from the list.

  5. When the side screen pops up, toggle the switch to the 'on' position to activate the location for your business.

    Please note: Locations is available on the Plus Plan (R249/month) and Pro Plan (R499/month). All subscription fees are billed upfront on the 1st of each month and auto-deducted from your Yoco payouts.

    As soon as you activate a location, it will be added to your monthly subscription fee. Find out about per-location billing. If you activate a new location partway through the month, you'll be charged a pro-rated amount for the remaining days.

  6. Select the Add location button to confirm that you want to activate your location. It will be available to use on your point of sale and/or handheld device(s) immediately.

    💡 Good to know: You can add a location now and activate it whenever you're ready – you'll only be billed for it once it's active.

  7. Select the Save button.

Locations can also be accessed and managed from the Settings tab.


Deactivating a location


When you want to stop trading from a location, you can deactivate it at any time.

💡 Good to know: If you deactivate a location mid-month, you won't be charged for it going forward, but you won't receive a refund for the current billing period.

  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Locations tile/widget.

  4. Select the location you want to deactivate from the list.

  5. When the side screen pops up, toggle the switch to the 'off' position to deactivate the location for your business.

  6. Select the Deactivate location button to confirm that you want to deactivate your location.

  7. Select the Save changes button.

Locations can also be accessed and managed from the Settings tab.


Editing a location


  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Locations tile/widget.

  4. Select the location you want to edit.

  5. When the pop-up appears, change the location name and/or the stock tracking setting.

  6. Select the Save changes button.

Locations can also be accessed and managed from the Settings tab.


Deleting a location


  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Locations tile/widget.

  4. Select the location you want to delete.

  5. Select the Delete location button.

  6. Confirm that you want to delete the location.


    💡 Good to know: You can delete a location whenever it suits you. If you delete a location mid-month, you won't be charged for it going forward, but you won't get a refund for the current billing period.

Important: Deleting a location is permanent. The location will be removed and will remove the location immediately. Your past transactions will still show up in your reports. If you want to stop paying for a location temporarily, you can always deactivate it instead (and reactivate it later).

Locations can also be accessed and managed from the Settings tab.


Removing locations from your card machine


No longer want your Yoco device to be linked to a specific location? No problem.

  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Locations tile/widget.

  4. Select the + New location button.

  5. Create a new location called TEST.

  6. Go to your card machine and select the Control centre tab.

  7. Select the About this device tile/widget.

  8. Select the Location widget to set your device location.

  9. Set the device to the test location you’ve just created.

  10. Open the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  11. Select the Manage tab from the side navigation.

  12. Select the Locations tile/widget.

  13. Select the test location you’ve just created.

  14. Select the Delete location button when the side screen pops up.

  15. Once you've confirmed that you want to delete the location, your Yoco device will no longer be linked to a specific location.


Tracking sales by location


  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Sales tab.

  3. Select the Sales history tile/widget.

  4. Select the Location button near the top of the screen.

  5. Select the location you’d like to apply as a filter.

You can also track your sales by location in your product reports.

  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Product reports tile/widget.

  4. Select the Location tile/widget (top right) to filter your sales by store/site.


Tracking stock by location


  1. Log in to the Yoco App (mobile or web).

  2. Select the Manage tab.

  3. Select the Stock tile/widget.

  4. Select the location you’d like to track stock for near the top of the screen.


Need more help?

Start a conversation with a Yoco Support consultant via our in-app chat.

Did this answer your question?